Being the person your dog thinks you are.

Many tears (of joy) were shed in the making of this post.

The saying, “Be the person your dog thinks you are,” has been my “slogan” shall we say throughout my online writing career. It really speaks to who I am and how I think we should all live our lives. But what does it really mean to live our to how our dog thinks of us? I haven’t even really thought about how my dogs, past and present, would think of me actually, but this article strives to do just that!

Let’s do some reflection:

jasm-summ-lamb-2004
Clockwise starting from bottom right: Jasmine, Lambchop, & Summer, 2004

Jasmine: She was our first dog & as a toddler, she’d let me get on her back & pretend she was my trusty steed. She was gentle, patient, & so kind, and put up with me being a total imaginative goofball.

Lambchop: When he got really old, I renamed him “Mr. Choppers,” and Mr. Choppers Lambchop became. He was with us for 12 years. I met him at Fort Funston at the age of 3 — he makes me believe in love at first sight because that was what he was to us. He probably thought of me as an affectionate, always-down-to-cuddle little girl.

Summer: I’ve had the Summer Bummer since I was 7 years old. We basically grew up together, as she is now an “ancient dog,” as my mother would say, of 13 years of age. She has seen me be the upmost playful as a child, mature into the 20 year old I am today, and still carries a deep love for me, as she still waits outside my door in the morning for me to wake up. She’s seen me through all my emotions & behaviors, and I will always be the little girl that picked her up from the airport in her eyes.

cropped-img_4717.jpg
Wilbur, 2016

Wilbur: Wilbur is my buddy! We take so many photos together, go on long walks on the beach, & he lets me lay on his 112 lb. body! He’s soooo cuddly & I’m pretty sure he’s very confused about whether he’s a small terrier like Summer Bummer, or a human. As you can tell, he’s the silliest guy with a huge personality with an even bigger heart. He party fouls every time my friends come over, but that’s okay — he’s easy to forgive, always. He definitely really appreciates how much I care for him.

img_5898

Toby, 2003

Toby: Wilbur may be my buddy, but I will always have the deepest doggy love for Toby. He was my first best friend. When I was bullied in elementary school, I would always look forward returning from my long, strenuous school days to play with him in our backyard. We’d play “detective” all afternoon and sleep together all night. We did everything together — he was my afternoon snack time & adventure buddy! He’d relieve me from my anxieties & make me the happiest little girl. When he passed away, I was scared he wouldn’t make it to Heaven since he was a dog. But when my pastor at the time reassured me that all dogs got to Heaven, I knew immediately I could be at peace & Toby was at even greater peace. He was my first heartbreak that took me a long time to “get over,” and I still cry every time I think about him.

I don’t mean to sound like a crazy dog lady, but being the person my dogs think I am means a lot to me. It means being my true silly, adventurous, imaginative, affectionate, loving, caring, most genuine self 24/7! From the loss of three dogs in the course of my life, this has only taught me to cherish¬†all of my loved ones (I like humans too, actually) in the finite time we have together and to always strive to build my relationships. Dogs, I strongly believe, only think the best of their human companions & love them unconditionally. We should all live our lives with an open heart and “wag,” in the human ways we can, for joy constantly. There is so much to live for & appreciate & just love about life!¬†Don’t be afraid to be yourself, my friends, and be your best, true self while at that.

Peace & love,

Emily

Author: emilychihming

Avid dog lover. Aspiring writer. Cal Bear. Unapologetically me. Peace & love!

Leave a Reply

